Uncategorized

I bear it no more

Why I am constantly hanging on to my sin? Why do I cling to it more closely than I cling to my Lord who died for my sin to be forgiven? Today I think we are all trying to save ourselves. Something that can never be done. But nevertheless, we try and try and try until we are completely exhausted. We read self help articles and turn towards our friends or isolate ourselves. We try everything else before realizing that there is only one thing can help us to break free.

Jesus is the only One who can set us free.

It’s almost like I don’t know who I am without pieces of darkness hanging off my clothes. Who would I be if I cut those dark threads of fabric off? Would I feel different if I stopped carrying around the weight of my sin? Would I worry less knowing the price of my sin has been paid?

There are days where I feel like I have shed the darkness. But there are also days where I’m wearing all black. I want to know what it means to be fully clothed in light and that starts by laying my sin and my burdens back at the cross. Where they have already been defeated and cleansed. If I would just let go. If we would just let go. 

I don’t why it is so hard for us to let go of our mistakes, our worries, or our pain. Maybe it is because we know what to expect from it. We know how the pain of our past hurts our hearts – and we survived. So we keep reliving it instead of moving forward into the unknown.

The unknown is scary. I get that. I am about to start student teaching and by God’s grace, I’ll have my own classroom of students in August. That thought terrifies me. I have no clue where I’m going to teach, where I’m going to live, or what other trials will come this year.

What I do know is that God has a plan – for me and for YOU…2017 is sure to bring about more pain, more mistakes, more worries. But 2017 is also sure to bring about more grace, more hope, more love, more peace, more healing, and more freedom. And those words are what I plan to look for in this broken world.

We don’t bear our sin anymore. We don’t have to hold the worries of this life on our shoulders. Jesus has taken both to cross. “My sin, not in part but the whole,
is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more, praise the Lord, praise the Lord, o my soul.”

Let it be well with our souls! Live freely in His grace and let it bring you joy, friends!

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a huge crowd of witnesses to the life of faith, let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up. And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us. We do this by keeping our eyes on Jesus, the champion who initiates and perfects our faith. Because of the joy awaiting him, he endured the cross, disregarding its shame. Now he is seated in the place of honor beside God’s throne.Think of all the hostility he endured from sinful people; then you won’t become weary and give up. After all, you have not yet given your lives in your struggle against sin.

Hebrews 12:1-4 (NLT)

2 thoughts on “I bear it no more

Leave a Reply

